Skip to main content

Pride of Ownership

Classic Motor Show 2022

Presenting the best classic cars in competition

Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership

Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership

Celebrating classic cars and their owners, this fantastic display gathers together enthusiasts with the best stories about rare, unusual and cherished vehicles. We have seen cars found as a wreck and restored to its former glory, vehicles owned for decades from new by the same owner, extremely rare examples and many with wonderful stories of how they hold sentimental value to a loved one.

The winner is chosen by you, the visitors, voted for throughout the show giving owners the opportunity to tell you their story and why you should pick their car.

Have a classic of your own you'd like to display? Entries to this year's competition are now open - enter below! 

Apply here

Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership Finalists 2023

Previous Winners

Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership

  • 2023: 1993 BMW 850CSi Individual owned by Tahmid Haque
  • 2022: 1968 Lotus Elan Plus 2 owned by Ian Croft
  • 2021: 1979 Triumph Spitfire owned by Jake Clappison
  • 2020 (Online): 1973 Porsche 914 owned by Paul Hibbert
  • 2019: 1961 Morris Minor Million owned by Ted Brookes
  • 2018: 1969 Ford Cortina Savage Mk2 owned by Rob Sargent
  • 2017: 1983 VW Golf GTi Mk1 owned by Simon McNamara
  • 2016: 1989 Austin Metro City owned by James Cribb
  • 2015: 1926 Packard 420 owned by Steve Mills

The competition also runs at our sister show the Practical Classics Classic Car & Restoration Show. For more information visit the website.

Classic Motorbike Pride of Ownership

  • 2023: 1979 Yamaha XT500 owned by Blake Hemingway
  • 2022: 1991 400 Honda NC30 owned by Christopher Bourne
  • 2021: 1938 Triumph Speedtwin owned by John and Jackie Cotterill
  • 2019: Ariel Square Four bike and sidecar owned by Mark Taylor
  • 2018: 1950 Norton Jowa owned by Len Francis
  • 2017: 1922 JD Harley Davidson owned by Steve Taylor
  • 2016: 1959 Triumph Bonneville owned by Alan Stopford
  • 2014: 1984 Honda MBX 125F owned by Vernon Laud
  • 2013: 1925 Levis T3 PX2120 owned by Russ Montgomery

Andrew Evanson, Senior Operations Manager of Lancaster Insurance, sponsors of the Pride of Ownership, said: “This competition is an integral part of the show and a real highlight of the weekend for many visitors. There have been some outstanding winners and participants over the years and we know there’s still some real gems out there waiting for their time to shine."

Find out more about Lancaster InsuranceLancaster Insurance

Voting for the Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership

Visitors can vote for their favourite car having had chance to not only inspect the cars at close proximity but also chat to the owners and hear their stories.

While the owners can engage and campaign with other entrants and visitors, any form of intimidation, cheating, derogatory remarks or bad mouthing is not tolerated and those involved will be disqualified and asked to leave.

Votes must be completed at the event within the competition display area. Votes will be counted and verified by Clarion Events Ltd and the organiser's decision is final.

The car with the most visitor votes wins with trophies awarded for first, second and third place. The first place winner will be invited to display their car at the next edition of the Classic Motor Show.

Entering the Competitions

How to Enter

Vehicles manufactured before 31 December 2003 were invited to enter into the Pride of Ownership competitions for consideration. 

Entries to this year's competition are officially open:

Apply here

The full Terms & Conditions are available on our T&Cs page.

Competition Rules 

Unlike other competitions, this is not a concours event. Whilst the standard of the car is still paramount, it’s the story the owner and the car have shared that will be taken into consideration when deciding who makes it onto the final centrepiece display. Modified and replica cars will be considered alongside their original counterparts.

A vehicle can only be entered once in a three-year period for the physical competition. Any online versions are open to previous entrants and finalists. An owner can enter one vehicle per year but it must be a different one each year.

Clarion Events will not contribute to any transportation or accommodation costs for entrants.

The competition is presented in the spirit of like-minded enthusiasts coming together to celebrate their vehicles. Entrants are asked to keep this in mind when submitting their application.

Our Sponsors & Partners

Lancaster Insurance

Headline Sponsor

Iconic Auctioneers logo

Auction Partner

PGVM logo

Logistics Partner


Detailing Partner

Keep up to date with all the latest news from the show and our clubs and traders, plus get the latest offers and deals on tickets.

Sign up for our newsletter